A Creature of Habit

I stand at the precipice of doubt
Trying to keep the demons out,
But, alas, I am just a maid;
A creature of habit
Used to being betrayed. 

I cannot help myself you see
Jealousy eats away at me,
And, true, how violently He consumes me;
A proper meal for His stomach
Paired with sour wine and disdain. 

I know not what to do
Crying tears seems natural proof,
That, sadly, I am destined for the tomb;
A ghostly apparition 
Held earthbound thanks to desertion. 

I wish I could change this fate
Praying for a miracle by the day,
But, alas, I am just a maid;
A creature of habit
Used to being disgraced.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

