The Operating Room

Dripping sentiment
Puts a flimsy rag
On an open wound.

I am no surgeon
But I recognize the
Necessity for action.

Plaster of devotion
Isn’t what is needed
For your survival.

Neither is an
Injection of regret
To ease infection.

Instead I will clean
Your gash with
Soap and water.

Let the area
Breathe fresh air
And expose tissue.

You will be tended
By hands apt
To ease the sick.

I will sew the
Wound instead
Of talking about it.

In time new
Skin will creep
Over spotty flesh.

My love will
Remedy this rift
Between us.

I am saving
Your heart tonight
No matter the cost.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

